Category Archives: Literary Read Alike

“Unwind”

Unwind by Neal Shusterman  “The Second Civil War, also known as “The Heartland War,” was a long and bloody conflict fought over a single issue. “To end the war, a set of constitutional amendments, known as “The Bill of Life” … Continue reading

Posted in "Banned Book", Adventure Stories, Controversial Issue/Debate, Family Problems, Fiction, Human Rights Issues, Literary Read Alike, Sci-Fi/Futuristic, Young Adult Literature | Leave a comment

‘Perfect Chemistry”

   Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles Perfect Chemistry is neither new nor unknown to students—and even though those are the two reasons I usually review books, I wanted to find out about this novel because it’s wildly popular at Chaffey … Continue reading

Posted in Family Problems, Fiction, Hi-Low/Quick Read, Literary Read Alike, Romance, Young Adult Literature | Tagged , | 1 Comment

“Matched” (on Ms. W’s summer reading list)

Matched by Ally Condie   “It is difficult to get the news from poems, yet men die miserably every day for lack of what is found there.” —William Carlos Williams Yes, Matched is another future dystopia, but like Hunger Games, this … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure Stories, Controversial Issue/Debate, Fiction, Human Rights Issues, Literary Read Alike, Romance, Sci-Fi/Futuristic, Young Adult Literature | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

“Paper Towns” (On Ms. W’s summer reading list)

Paper Towns by John Green                                       Unscrew the locks from the doors! Unscrew the doors themselves from their jambs! –Walt Whitman, “Song of Myself” I admit it. I just love John Green’s books. I started with Will Grayson, Will Grayson, which … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure Stories, Family Problems, Fiction, Literary Read Alike, Young Adult Literature | Leave a comment

“Death Cloud: The Sherlock Holmes Legend Begins”

Death Cloud: The Sherlock Holmes Legend Begins by Andrew Lane  A note on the book jacket tells us that this is the first teen series endorsed by the Conan Doyle (creator of Sherlock Holmes) Estate. I’m happy to see a … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure Stories, Fiction, Historical Fiction/Historical Element, Horror/Mystery/Suspense, Literary Read Alike, Young Adult Literature | Tagged , | Leave a comment

“The Boy in the Striped Pajamas” and “The Book Thief”

The Boy in the Stripped Pajamas by John Boyne and The Book Thief by Markus Zusak It’s been a few months since I’ve read these books—one after the other—but I felt like I needed some space away from them before … Continue reading

Posted in Fiction, Hi-Low/Quick Read, Literary Read Alike, Over 375 pages, Young Adult Literature | Tagged , | 2 Comments

“A Kiss in Time”

A Kiss in Time by Alex Flinn Talia is a beautiful royal princess whose minor rebellion against her overprotective parents results in the very thing they fear most. She pricks her finger on a spindle and sends the entire kingdom … Continue reading

Posted in Fable/Fairy Tale/Fantasy, Literary Read Alike, Young Adult Literature | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

“Wintergirls”

You loved Speak–and Wintergirls is by the same author! Ms. W Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson On Saturday night Lia ignores thirty-three phone calls from her ex-best friend Cassie. On Monday morning Lia learns that Cassie has been found dead … Continue reading

Posted in Fiction, Literary Read Alike, Young Adult Literature | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

“A New Life”

“A New Life” by Ramsey Campbell For senior students who are reading “Frankenstein” and then comparing it to other works of fiction, “A New Life” is a great story. I understand that those of you in Mrs. Gebhart’s class have … Continue reading

Posted in Controversial Issue/Debate, Fiction, Horror/Mystery/Suspense, Literary Read Alike, Short Stories | 1 Comment

“Whirligig”

Whirligig by Paul Fleishman In trying to kill himself, Brent causes an accident that kills Lea Zamora, a high school senior whose life is very promising. Brent was drunk and had just been humiliated at a party by the girl … Continue reading

Posted in Fiction, Hi-Low/Quick Read, Literary Read Alike, Read 180, Young Adult Literature | Tagged , | 2 Comments