Category Archives: Literary Read Alike

Adult Books for Teens: “The Circle”

The Circle by Dave Eggers  With job prospects slim, Mae Holland, a 24-year-old college grad, has been working at a local utility company for a few years. She sees her job as a dead end, but what can she do? … Continue reading

Posted in Controversial Issue/Debate, Family Problems, Fiction, Human Rights Issues, Literary Read Alike, Over 375 pages, Sci-Fi/Futuristic | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Adult Books for Teens: “The Round House”

The Round House by Louise Erdrich   Joe and his dad Bazil are a bit worried about Joe’s mom. She isn’t home on time and there’s no indication of where she’s gone off to. Worried enough that they borrow a car—she … Continue reading

Posted in Family Problems, Fiction, Historical Fiction/Historical Element, Horror/Mystery/Suspense, Human Rights Issues, Literary Read Alike, Multicultural | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

New fantasy fiction

The newest–come check them out! Sea Change by Aimee Friedman When her estranged grandmother dies and leaves her mother the family home on Selkie Island, seventeen-year-old Miranda meets her mother on the Georgia island, where she discovers mysterious family secrets … Continue reading

Posted in Fable/Fairy Tale/Fantasy, Family Problems, Fiction, Literary Read Alike, Romance, Supernatural, Uncategorized, Young Adult Literature | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Adult books for teens: “When She Woke”

Adult books for teens: When She Woke by Hillary Jordan  In a future United States, a scourge has caused pandemic infertility. Abortion is against the law, and when Hannah Payne is caught, she is imprisoned in the “Chrome Ward” where … Continue reading

Posted in Controversial Issue/Debate, Faith-Based/Religious Element, Family Problems, Fiction, Human Rights Issues, Literary Read Alike, Mature Readers | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

“Cinder”

Cinder by Marissa Meyer  Poor Cinder. Not only is she Cinderella on warp speed—she slaves away as a mechanic for her step-family in a future world that has been through four World Wars—she’s also a cyborg who started out as … Continue reading

Posted in Fable/Fairy Tale/Fantasy, Family Problems, Fiction, Literary Read Alike, Romance, Sci-Fi/Futuristic, Young Adult Literature | Tagged , | Leave a comment

“Legend”

Legend by Marie Lu  The moment that Day, street rebel against the Republic, saves June, a young and brilliant soldier of the Republic, from an illegal Skiz fight, we know the two are destined to walk the same path. As … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure Stories, Fiction, Human Rights Issues, Literary Read Alike, Romance, Sci-Fi/Futuristic, Young Adult Literature | Tagged , | Leave a comment

“Divergent”

Divergent by Veronica Roth “Every faction conditions its members to think and act a certain way. And most people do it. For most people, it’s not hard to learn, to find a pattern of thought that works and stay that … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure Stories, Controversial Issue/Debate, Family Problems, Fiction, Human Rights Issues, Literary Read Alike, Mature Readers, Over 375 pages, Sci-Fi/Futuristic, Young Adult Literature | Tagged | Leave a comment