Category Archives: Literary Read Alike

Adult Books for Teens: “The Circle”

The Circle by Dave Eggers  With job prospects slim, Mae Holland, a 24-year-old college grad, has been working at a local utility company for a few years. She sees her job as a dead end, but what can she do? … Continue reading

Posted in Controversial Issue/Debate, Family Problems, Fiction, Human Rights Issues, Literary Read Alike, Over 375 pages, Sci-Fi/Futuristic | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Adult Books for Teens: “The Round House”

The Round House by Louise Erdrich   Joe and his dad Bazil are a bit worried about Joe’s mom. She isn’t home on time and there’s no indication of where she’s gone off to. Worried enough that they borrow a car—she … Continue reading

Posted in Family Problems, Fiction, Historical Fiction/Historical Element, Horror/Mystery/Suspense, Human Rights Issues, Literary Read Alike, Multicultural | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

New fantasy fiction

The newest–come check them out! Sea Change by Aimee Friedman When her estranged grandmother dies and leaves her mother the family home on Selkie Island, seventeen-year-old Miranda meets her mother on the Georgia island, where she discovers mysterious family secrets … Continue reading

Advertisement

Posted in Fable/Fairy Tale/Fantasy, Family Problems, Fiction, Literary Read Alike, Romance, Supernatural, Uncategorized, Young Adult Literature | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Adult books for teens: “When She Woke”

Adult books for teens: When She Woke by Hillary Jordan  In a future United States, a scourge has caused pandemic infertility. Abortion is against the law, and when Hannah Payne is caught, she is imprisoned in the “Chrome Ward” where … Continue reading

Posted in Controversial Issue/Debate, Faith-Based/Religious Element, Family Problems, Fiction, Human Rights Issues, Literary Read Alike, Mature Readers | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

“Cinder”

Cinder by Marissa Meyer  Poor Cinder. Not only is she Cinderella on warp speed—she slaves away as a mechanic for her step-family in a future world that has been through four World Wars—she’s also a cyborg who started out as … Continue reading

Posted in Fable/Fairy Tale/Fantasy, Family Problems, Fiction, Literary Read Alike, Romance, Sci-Fi/Futuristic, Young Adult Literature | Tagged , | Leave a comment

“Legend”

Legend by Marie Lu  The moment that Day, street rebel against the Republic, saves June, a young and brilliant soldier of the Republic, from an illegal Skiz fight, we know the two are destined to walk the same path. As … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure Stories, Fiction, Human Rights Issues, Literary Read Alike, Romance, Sci-Fi/Futuristic, Young Adult Literature | Tagged , | Leave a comment

“Divergent”

Divergent by Veronica Roth “Every faction conditions its members to think and act a certain way. And most people do it. For most people, it’s not hard to learn, to find a pattern of thought that works and stay that … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure Stories, Controversial Issue/Debate, Family Problems, Fiction, Human Rights Issues, Literary Read Alike, Mature Readers, Over 375 pages, Sci-Fi/Futuristic, Young Adult Literature | Tagged | 2 Comments

“Crossed”

Crossed by Ally Condie (second book in the Matched series) “I think of all the things he can do—write, carve, paint—and suddenly, watching him stand in the dark at the edge of the empty settlement, something powerful washes over me. … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure Stories, Fiction, Human Rights Issues, Literary Read Alike, Romance, Sci-Fi/Futuristic, Young Adult Literature | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

“The Art of Fielding”

The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach All right—this really is a book for mature readers, but it’s such wonderful storytelling on so many levels that I want to include a review of it. Add to that the fact that … Continue reading

Posted in Family Problems, Fiction, Literary Read Alike, Mature Readers, Sports | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

“Self Storage”

Self Storage by Gayle Brandeis  How difficult is it for the ordinary you or me to do the right thing? Well, if we are middle class and living in the US, usually, it’s not too tough. We are supported by … Continue reading

Posted in Controversial Issue/Debate, Family Problems, Fiction, Literary Read Alike | Tagged , , | Leave a comment